Securing Zoom Meetings

"Zoombombing" happens when a non-secured meeting ID is shared or guessed and an uninvited, anonymous attendee connects and eavesdrops or sometimes shares inappropriate content.

As a best practice, it is always advised to frequently check your Zoom application for the latest updates as Zoom frequently provides security patches & other updates to provide you with a secure web conferencing experience. To check for the latest updates: open your Zoom application, click on your profile picture and then click on Check for Updates and follow the prompts. Click here for additional information about updating Zoom. 

Use the below tips to help secure your Zoom meeting:

1.  Lock the Meeting

As a security precaution, once all Participants have joined, the Meeting can be locked to prevent anyone else from joining.

  • Make sure the Participants area is showing (select Manage Participants from the Meeting controls, at the bottom of the Meeting window).
  • In the additional controls at the bottom of the Participants area, click on More (the three dots in the grey circle).
  • Select Lock Meeting

Lock Zoom Meeting

 

Use these same steps to unlock the meeting, should that be required.

Note that once a Meeting has been locked, no one else may join, but there will not be any notifications to the meeting Host at that point if additional Participants try to join. You will want to wait to lock a Meeting until you are sure that all Participants are in the Meeting.

2.  Set a Strong Meeting Password

When you set up your meeting, you can require that a password be used to join the Meeting.  In Meeting settings:

Configure Zoom Meeting Password

 

In this example, the Meeting password is 10 characters long, and uses both upper- and lower-case letters, numbers and special characters.  Participants must provide this password to join the meeting – but note that if you have used the Copy Invitation area when creating your meeting, the password information is included in that text. You may wish to send a separate email or choose a different method of communicating the Meeting password.

3.  Enable Waiting Room

The Zoom Waiting Room permits the host to use the Waiting Room as a holding area; Participants can only enter the Meeting when the host allows, either one by one, or as a group. 

If you wish to make the Waiting Room a default for all your Meetings, enable this setting in your Vol State Zoom Portal profile Settings area and choose whether this function will be used for Guest participants only or All participants (default).

Configuring Zoom Waiting Room

 

There is also the option of customizing the dialog box seen by Participants upon joining, with a title, logo and description. 

Note this profile setting enables the Waiting Room for all your Meetings.  Also, if the Enable Waiting Room setting is enabled, the Join Before Host option does not work.

Once Waiting Room setting is enabled in this way, it is enabled for all Meetings: 

Disable Join Before Host Setting in Zoom

In each Meeting where Waiting Room is used, each Participant attempting to join the meeting will see a dialog box with the message, The meeting is waiting for the host to join.

4.  Disable Enable Join Before Host Setting

While not actually securing a Meeting, the Enable join before host setting controls whether Participants can enter the Meeting room before the host joins.  By unchecking this setting, any Participants attempting to join the meeting will see a dialog box with the message, The meeting is waiting for the host to join. 

However, as mentioned above, if the Waiting Room is enabled for a Meeting, the Enable Join Before Host setting does not function.

Disable Join Before Host Setting in Zoom

 

5.  Add One or More Co-Hosts for Meetings with Many Participants

Including an alternative host, or elevating one or more Participants to the role of Co-Host once the Meeting is started, makes it easier to monitor the Participants area, as well as the Chat area.  Co-host(s) can remove any unauthorized or disruptive Participants, and/or can lock the meeting (see above for more detailed instructions). Co-hosts should scroll down the Participants list a few times during the Meeting to monitor who is attending.

6.  Scheduling Meetings via Outlook Plugin

Adding a Meeting to an Outlook calendar through the Outlook plugin may expose the password to anyone who has viewing permissions on that calendar, because the password is included in the calendar entry by default.  To get around this problem, either make such calendar entries private or edit the text to remove the password.

7.  Removing an Unauthorized Participant from a Meeting

Once the Meeting has been started, Participants can be manually removed:

  • Make sure the Participants area is showing (select Manage Participants from the Meeting controls, at the bottom of the Meeting window).
  • At the entry for the Participant to be removed, select More.
  • In the list that pops up, select Remove.

 

100% helpful - 2 reviews

Details

Article ID: 104187
Created
Thu 4/2/20 4:31 PM
Modified
Thu 4/2/20 6:13 PM